EU Citizens: Where Can You Travel Without Tourist Visas?

by Catherine Carey | January 23, 2024
travel visa free eu citizens

Contemplating an international escape? For EU citizens, the promise of seamless travel is a reality, as they can explore certain countries without the necessity of obtaining tourist visas. In this article, we'll navigate you through a selection of passport-friendly destinations where EU citizens can enjoy extended stays without the requirement of a tourist visa.

Current member states of the European Union are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Countries where EU citizens can stay the longest without tourist visa

  1. Georgia. Georgia allows EU citizens to stay for up to a year without a conventional tourist visa.
  2. Peru. Irish citizens can stay in Peru without a visa for 183 days. Other EU citizens can stay for up to 90 days. 
  3. United Kingdom. EU passport holders can still visit the UK for a period of up to six months without a visa.
  4. Fiji. EU citizens can stay for up to 4 months there without a tourist visa.

More visa free countries that EU citizens can travel to

Apart from the previously mentioned countries, there are other countries that have agreements with EU nations and allow different stays without visas. Some are:

  • Argentina, Brasil, Colombia, Costa Rica and other South American countries. They allow EU citizens to stay in their countries for up to 90 days. 
  • Bahamas. The majority of EU citizens can stay for up to 3 months, except Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands that can stay for up to 8 months.
  • China. Citizens from the Netherlands, France, Germany, Italy and Spain can stay visa-free for up to 15 days, while other EU citizens must have a visa for China.
  • Japan. All EU citizens can stay for up to 90 days in Japan. Citizens from Austria, Germany and Ireland can extend their stay visa-free.
  • Philippines. EU citizens can stay for up to 30 days. 
  • Seychelles. All EU citizens can stay without a visa for 3 months.

Need a visa? Applying online for a tourist visa

There are several tourist visas that are mandatory for EU citizens and other citizens. If you want to get your visa fully online, you can trust in Visagov’s services. We are a trusted company that specializes in visa processing. You will find one platform to apply for a visa to any of the following countries:

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Guinea
  • Ivory Coast
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Rwanda
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Canada
  • Cuba
  • Mexico
  • Montserrat
  • Puerto Rico
  • United States
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Cambodia
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vietnam
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea

You will also have a 24/7 visa and travel assistance in case something goes wrong or you have any questions. We made Visagov the easiest and the most convenient way to get your travel authorization.