China will grant visa exemption to more EU countries in March

by Pilar Dujan | March 11, 2024
Discover which countries can visit Shanghai without a China visa

China keeps expanding its visa-exemption program. Now, it has added new EU members to the list: Austria, Belgium, Hungary, Ireland, Luxembourg and Switzerland. Citizens of these countries who hold ordinary passports will be able to travel to China without a visa for 15 days.

The visa exemption will be put into effect on March 14th. However, it is only temporary: the trial ends on November 30th, so pick your travel dates accordingly.

If a citizen of these countries wishes to travel for more than 15 days (or for reasons other than tourism, business, family visits or transit), they will need to get a visa for China. 

The reason behind all the measures China is taking in regards to foreign travelers is to boost its tourism industry, which is still struggling after the COVID-19 pandemic. 

More recent visa news from China

There have been lots of recent visa news coming from China. These 6 countries join an ever growing list of visa-exempt nations, like: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Malaysia, Georgia, and Singapore. Thailand and China have their own agreement, a mutual visa-exemption.