Georgians can travel visa-free to China

by Catherine Carey | February 29, 2024
The Great Wall of China

Citizens of Georgia will be able to travel visa-free from China. Georgians will be able to travel to China for up to 30 days without needing a visa

This decision comes after a series of policies aimed to deepen relations between Georgia and China. In fact, they both signed a strategic partnership agreement in July 2023 and Georgia already granted visa-free travel for Chinese citizens on September 11, 2023.

Prime Minister of Georgia, Irakli Kobakhidze has welcomed the decision made by China as another opportunity to bolster both countries' decision.

“This is an important decision that will make it easier for our fellow citizens to travel to China and create new opportunities for further development of political, economic and cultural relations between Georgia and China”, the Prime minister has stated. 

Vice Prime Minister of Georgia, Levan Davitashvili, has further revealed that the new measure will come into effect within a few days and that it will increase direct flights and boost the tourism sector.

87 countries to where Geogians can travel visa-free

Citizens of Georgia can travel visa-free to 87 countries, according to the VisaGuide Passport Index. Georgians can travel to these countries without a visa: Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Cook Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Haiti, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Niue, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Türkiye, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan & Vatican City.

China announces visa waivers for 9 other countries

During the past three months, China has announced visa waivers for more countries other than Georgia. 

Currently, due to China’s trial program, visitors from France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Malaysia can enter the country visa-free for 15 days. This is expected to last 12 months, until November 2024.

Swiss citizens have been some of the last nationalities to be graced with a visa waiver to china. Swiss passport holders can enter China without having the need to apply for a visa. The same applies to Singaporean citizens. Citizens of Singapore can travel visa-free to China for tourism for up to 30 days without needing a visa.

Thailand and China have also agreed on implementing a visa waiver program in the upcoming months.